LTC Classes      (formally CHL)

The License To Carry or LTC class is required by the Texas DPS if you want to apply for a License To Carry a handgun in Texas.  Formally known as a Concealed Handgun License or CHL, this is the same license with some modifications to allow for Texas' newest laws allowing for openly carrying of handguns by license holders.  There is only one license which allows for the licensee to either carry concealed or openly with some restrictions.

This class is taught in 4 modules which include:

  • handgun use and safety

  • proper storage practices

  • non-violent dispute resolution

  • laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force

What you need to know

* PLEASE NOTE: This is NOT a handgun training class.  It is important to have a working knowledge of the handgun you will be using on the day of the qualifier.  In the class material issued by the state of Texas, there is only a small portion addressing the fundamentals of shooting, but no time allotted for real hands-on training.  If you need a "date" with your gun before class we have private training options available.  We also have a qualifier guarantee session where we will refund the monies paid for the training session if you cannot pass the qualifier after 3 attempts.

* Although there is nothing required to be done before you take this class, we recommend that you go online to the DPS website and start the application process ahead of time, but it is not required.

Before the application process you need to read the LTC-16 (Handgun Licensing Laws)

Things you need for the application process:

  • Valid drivers license or identification card

  • Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information

  • Residential and employment information for the last 5 years

  • Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history

  • Valid email address

  • Valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express)

  • ALL FEES paid to the state ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

*  If you take the class and successfully pass both the written test and the handgun proficiency demonstration you will be issued an LTC-100 (Training Completion Certificate) which you will send in to the DPS with all other required documents and state fees.  

* You should allow up to 8 weeks to hear back from the DPS.

* No guns are allowed in the classroom.  Please secure them in your vehicle during the classroom session.